Truck Driving Academy

Come Drive with us! 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy

Accelerated Programs, Affordability, & Hands-On Training

We offer a comprehensive, hands-on truck driver training program that exceeds Ohio requirements for obtaining your CDL (Commercial Driver's License). Our approach means that most of your driving instruction time is spent in the truck; either on our closed course or on the road. Classes are small so you will be guaranteed the "behind-the-wheel" time that you need to begin your professional trucking career. And individual instruction means that you get quick answers and valuable driving experience. The costs below include instruction, licensing, and all endorsements. There are no hidden or additional costs.

After completing the program, you have the potential to earn $45,000 to $55,000 in your first year! Contact us to learn more!

Training Cost Hours Program Design
Class A $5,750 160 4 Weeks or 8 Weekends
Class B $3,000 80 2 Weeks
Passenger Bus $3000 80 2 Weeks
HazMat $65 2-4 Online
Class A - 160 Training Hours - The cost is $5,750.

The cost is $5,750. As of January 1, 2024, you are required to have your CDL permit prior to the start of training. Tuition includes the following tests and endorsements: hazmat, doubles, triples, tankers, combination tractor/trailer, and air brakes. Your DOT physical and drug screen, 2 attempts to pass the CDL test at the testing site with our truck, and the license fee. You can test up to 5 times with us. However, there are additional costs with each test. Class A students train in a 53' Trailer with a manual 450 hp, 10 speed, Tractor with sleeper cab.

Class B - 80 Training Hours - The cost is $3,000.

This is a two-week program and is not available on the weekends. It runs the first 2-weeks with the Class A courses. Because it is only a 2-week program, you are required to have your permit prior to the start of training. For Class B permit you are required to take at least the General Knowledge, and Air Brakes endorsement tests. However, you may choose to also take the Tankers test at no additional charge. After you complete the Hazmat training in the classroom, you can then take the Hazmat endorsement test at the BMV. The Hazmat test is the only endorsement test that you cannot take prior to completing the classroom portion of training. The first 2 days you will be in the classroom. The remaining 8 days of training will be at the skills pad and on the road. The tuition includes the cost of a DOT physical and drug screen, 2 attempts to pass the CDL Class B test at the testing site with our truck, and the license fee. Class B students train in a manual Kenworth 6-speed single axle straight truck.

Passenger Bus Endorsement - 80 Training Hours - The cost is $3,000.

(If you received your Class A CDL with 吃瓜不打烊 TDA the cost is $1,000.) This is a two-week program and is not available on the weekends. The training is scheduled upon request as registration forms are received. You are required to have your Class B Passenger Bus permit prior to the start of training. For Class B Passenger Bus permit you are required to take the General Knowledge, Air Brakes and Passenger Bus endorsement tests. The training includes 8 hours of classroom instruction, 24 hours of maneuver training and 8 hours behind the wheel on the road. The tuition includes the cost of a DOT physical and drug screen, 2 attempts to pass the CDL Class B passenger bus test at the testing site with our passenger bus, and the license fee.

ELDT HazMat Online Course - 2-4 Hours - The cost is $65 - If you ONLY need to ADD a HAZMAT Endorsement to your current license, this is for you.

As part of the new ELDT requirements that went into effect on February 7, 2022, all drivers seeking a HazMat endorsement are required to complete a Hazardous Materials theory training program BEFORE taking the Hazmat endorsement test at a local BMV. This training course satisfies that requirement.

This is a self-guided online course. Training takes a few hours to complete. Upon completion of the course, you will receive a downloadable PDF certificate and scores will be reported to the FMCSA's Training Provider Registry allowing you to take the test at the DMV. Complete a TDA Student Registration Form to get started.

Obtaining Permit - Most BMV's require you to have your birth certificate as well as your driver's license with you in order to get your permit printed.

You are REQUIRED to have your CDL permit prior to the start of training. You will need to locate a BMV testing center and make an appointment to take your permit endorsement tests. Not all BMV's are testing centers. Batavia, Chillicothe, New Boston and Jackson BMV are just a few testing centers. The most successful study tool is an app you can download on your smartphone, CDL Prep. It has all the endorsement tests listed individually that you can take as many times as you want to help you prepare for the actual tests at the BMV. Please be sure to review the 'Ohio CDL Driver Manual - Modernized Test System' at .

Program Start Dates:

The program can be offered at either of our 2 locations Wilmington & Piketon . The Wilmington classroom portion will operate at the Brown county campus, and we will continue to utilize the existing pad in Wilmington. This means students will have to spend their first week, or first two weekends, at the Brown County campus for their classroom instruction. The start dates for each location are listed below:

WeekDAY Class A CDL:
  • Class A training | January 2, 2024
  • Class A training | January 29, 2024
  • Class A training | February 26, 2024

Note: Weekday classes will be held Monday through Friday from 8:00am - 4:30pm.

WeekEND Class A CDL:
  • Class A training | February 3, 2024
  • Class A training | April 6, 2024
  • Class A training | June 8, 2024

Note: Weekend classes will be held Saturday and Sunday from 7:00am - 5:30pm.

WeekDAY Class B CDL:
  • Class B training | January 2, 2024 | Wilmington
  • Class B training | January 29, 2024 | Piketon
  • Class B training | February 26, 2024 | Wilmington

Note: Weekday classes will be held Monday through Friday from 8:00am - 4:30pm.

How to Enroll:

Step 1: Register for the program

When you are ready to take the next step to a new, exciting career, complete the form to get started! This form is a secure DocuSign form that submits directly to Angie Devilbliss via email once you click submit at the end.

Before you begin the Registration Form please be aware the form will ask for your social security number, date of birth, driver's license number, email address, and your phone number. Once you complete the form and click submit, the document emails directly to Angie Devilbliss. Who will then get in touch with you.

Step 2: Pay for Tuition

  • If you are paying for the tuition out of pocket, you can call Angie Devilbliss at 937.393.3431 x4560 to pay over the phone with a credit or debit card. (Please make sure your daily spending limit will cover the cost of tuition by calling your bank first.)
  • If you need financial assistance paying for the tuition, you must first check with your county Ohio Means Job Community Action office. If you are not eligible for tuition assistance through your county, you must get the reason in writing and forward it to Angie Devilbliss at adevilbliss@sscc.edu before I can assist you with State financial assistance.
  • If you need to apply for a student loan, visit . Sallie Mae will determine whether to approve or deny your loan based on your credit score. Once approved, please notify Angie Devilbliss at adevilbliss@sscc.edu.
  • If you are a Veteran, we accept Chapter 33 Post 911 GI Bill for the Truck Driving Academy. You must present a current Certificate of Eligibility showing your eligibility percentage.
  • The CDL Certificate does NOT qualify for the FAFSA financial aid assistance.
  • Union Education Trust Vouchers can be used as a form of payment. You must request the vouchers from your Union Employer 45 days prior to your approved start date, then email the signed copies to Angie Devilbliss at adevilbliss@sscc.edu.

Step 3: Complete a DOT physical and drug test

Once the tuition is covered or paid in full, Angie Devilbliss will schedule you for a DOT physical and drug screen at one of our approved clinics, which is included in the tuition cost. This must be completed at least 10 days in advance of the start of training in order for the results to be returned to us. Once we receive an approved DOT physical and a negative drug screen your seat is secure.

Course Overview

The Truck Driving Academy starts driving classes once a month, and the official program start dates are listed above. Please Contact us for additional info. Our CDL school offers accelerated training that encompasses the wide variety of vehicle and truck and trailer combinations on the road today. Your program will be divided between classroom and hands-on driver training, covering everything from paperwork to backing, turning, and shifting on our closed course to complex maneuvers through city streets, but we'll take it all one step at a time, always making sure that you're ready before you progress to the next level.

Click to continue reading...

The course will begin with learning essential driving skills, regulations, safety, and basic mechanical systems. You'll move into the truck for realistic exercises on a closed course, and as you gain confidence, you'll drive on low-traffic roadways and city streets with tractor-trailer combinations. You will advance to road driving, combining your classroom instruction with driving skills, refining your knowledge, and practice on controlled courses designed to help increase your confidence on the open road.

During the last week of training, you will fine-tune your driving, routing, and paperwork skills, learn advanced shifting techniques, as well as how to handle your rig under differing road conditions. You will be able to complete runs on congested city throughways, handle common roadside mechanical repairs, and shift like the professional you have grown to be.

You will then be ready for a thorough review and practice test before taking the actual Commercial Driver's License exam. If you don't already have a job offer, you will now be ready for the Job Placement phase of your training.

We will be with you every step of the way! You will find that the difference in truck driving schools is the level of care and individual instruction each student receives. We sincerely want you to be equipped to reach your full potential and have a successful, well-paid career in truck driving!

Contact us to learn more!

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles Modernizes Commercial Driver License (CDL) Skills Test

The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (OHBMV) has announced a modernized version of the commercial driver license (CDL) skills test will be implemented at all third-party CDL examination sites, and at OHBMV Examination Sites that offer CDL skills tests, beginning October 2, 2023.

This modernized CDL Skills Test was developed in partnership with the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), and the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA). Due to positive reports and safety data shared from the AAMVA community through its extensive vetting process, OHBMV is confident the new skills test accurately tests applicants' knowledge of modern vehicle features and still focuses on key skills needed to safely operate a commercial vehicle.

OHBMV believes the adoption of the updated test will help ensure CDL drivers will have the knowledge and skills to drive safely while waiving outdated requirements and keeping up with new technology.

To receive a CDL, applicants need to complete the full CDL skills-test which is comprised of three unique tests that must be passed in succession: Pre-Trip Vehicle Inspection; Basic Vehicle Control; and a Road Test.

The Pre-Trip Vehicle Inspection, and Basic Vehicle Control, skills tests have been updated for all representative commercial motor vehicles.

The modernized Pre-Trip Vehicle Inspection test has added a new vehicle inspection checklist to the Ohio CDL Manual on pages 11M-11 through 11M-13 that may now be used as a memory aid while taking the inspection test. This memory aid simulates a "real world" addition to the inspection portion of the test, where applicants may be asked to identify up to 90 different components on the vehicle and describe what they are looking for to ensure it is safe and ready for use compared to the current requirement of more than 100 items.

OHBMV anticipates applicants who use the new vehicle inspection memory aid, and those who focus on the four steps identified in the memory aid regarding the additional air brake check component, will find success in passing the Pre-Trip Vehicle Inspection portion of the CDL skills test without any compromise in commercial vehicle safety.

In addition to the Pre-Trip Vehicle Inspection test updates, the Basic Vehicle Control Skills test portion will require applicants to demonstrate the following "real world" maneuvers to demonstrate basic operational control of their representative commercial vehicle. These include:

  • Forward Stop to demonstrate an applicant's ability to judge the front of the vehicle;
  • Straight-Line Backing to demonstrate the applicant's ability to back the vehicle in a straight line;
  • Forward Offset Tracking to demonstrate an applicant's ability to maneuver the vehicle around other objects while moving forward; and
  • Reverse Offset Backing to demonstrate an applicant's ability to offset reverse and park the vehicle.

It is important to note there are no changes to the CDL Road Test.

Applicants who have already completed portions of the test prior to October 2nd will still need to complete current versions of CDL Skills Testing.

OHBMV advises applicants testing before October 2nd should continue to review and study the current Commercial Driver License Manual "2005 CDL Testing System AAMVA Version July 2017" HSY7605 Revision Date 08/2022 to prepare.

Prospective applicants who are scheduled to take the test after October 1st, should study the updated Commercial Driver License Manual "Modernized Test System 2022 AAMVA" HSY7605 Revision Date 09/2023 which can be found online at beginning September 18, 2023.

A list of CDL Skills/Testing Location sites can be found by visiting and selecting the link in the top right for BMV Locations.

Should you have any questions about the CDL Modernized Test, or the OHBMV CDL Examination program please contact us directly at OHBMVCDLExam@dps.ohio.gov

Equipment

We have a fleet of vehicles including tractors, buses and numerous trailers you will train on. Our equipment is up-to-date and meets or exceeds all industry standards. We offer a variety of engines, transmissions and trailers. All of our equipment is clean, well-maintained and roadworthy.

When you walk out the door of the Truck Driving Academy with your CDL, you will be prepared to drive any commercial vehicle – from commercial buses to tractors pulling double trailers!

Qualifications

To qualify for employment as a professional over-the-road driver, you must be 21 years of age and hold a valid Commercial Driver's License. You must pass a DOT physical exam and an alcohol and controlled substance test.

For intrastate Ohio, applicants may qualify at 18 years of age. To enroll in the program, you must possess a valid Ohio driver's license.

CDL Permit Test Booklet

If you've ever thought of getting your CDL in Ohio, then now is an ideal time, and the first step toward that goal is studying the 2022 Ohio Commercial Driver License Manual. While there are hundreds of optional questions that could be on your CDL knowledge test, the answers to all of them are contained in the Ohio CDL manual, so studying it is the key to succeeding. You can view this manual at

Passenger Bus Endorsement

Drivers who operate commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) with passengers are required to possess the proper endorsement according to the regulations of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. This endorsement will take two weeks to complete. If you received your Class A or B CDL through 吃瓜不打烊 the Passenger Bus Endorsement will cost $1000, otherwise the cost will be $3000. Contact us to learn more!

ELDT HazMat Online Course - $65.00

If you ONLY need to ADD a HAZMAT Endorsement to your current license, this is for you.

This is a self-guided online course. Training takes a few hours to complete. Upon completion of the course, you will receive a downloadable PDF certificate and scores will be reported to the FMCSA's Training Provider Registry allowing you to take the test at the BMV. Complete a TDA Student Registration Form to get started.

As part of the new ELDT requirements that went into effect on February 7, 2022, all drivers seeking a HazMat endorsement are required to complete a Hazardous Materials theory training program BEFORE taking the Hazmat endorsement test at a local BMV. This training course satisfies that requirement.

Click to continue reading...

What is a HazMat Endorsement?

Let's start with the basics. You, a professional CDL driver, need a HazMat endorsement to haul hazardous materials in your freight. These loads carry hazardous substances that can have adverse effects on you and the environment. Thus, they require a special endorsement to be added to your CDL in order to transport them. Additionally, a driver with a hazardous materials endorsement is subject to specific responsibilities beyond the standard requirements set by the Department of Transportation (DOT) of a standard CDL driver without a HazMat endorsement.

If you need a hazardous materials (H) endorsement on your CDL and want to take the test at your DMV, this training satisfies that requirement. This training meets US DOT, TSA, PHMSA, and FMCSA curriculum standards for HazMat entry-level driver training (ELDT), and is listed on the FMCSA鈥檚 Training Provider Registry (TPR). Training takes a few hours to complete. Upon completion of the course, you will need to email Angie Devilbliss to receive your downloadable PDF certificate.

  • FMCSA Training Provider Registry (TPR) Approved Training
  • Automatic Reporting to the FMCSA鈥檚 Training Provider Registry
  • Downloadable PDF Certificate emailed to you after course completion
  • NO more waiting in classrooms! 24/7 online class! Take at your convenience
  • No time limit, take as long as you need to finish the course

HazMat Endorsement Steps

  • NEW REQUIREMENT: Pass an ELDT Hazmat Training course
  • Undergo a TSA background check (Fingerprinting)
  • Pass the BMV written exam

HazMat Driver Additional Responsibilities Include:

  • Maintaining Shipping Papers
  • Placarding and Marking the Vehicle
  • Loading and Unloading
  • Ensuring Compatibility Requirements
  • Blocking and Bracing
  • Completing Incident & Accident Reports
  • Complying to a Security Plan
  • Employee Training - HazMat Theory
  • The hazardous materials endorsement on an CDL means the driver has passed the mandatory training and tests to transport all classes of hazardous materials. The driver must keep a copy of the HazMat table in their truck to properly categorize types of loads on all paperwork and comply with Hazardous Materials Requirements (HMR).

Types/Classes of Hazardous Materials Include:

  • Class 1 鈥 Explosives
  • Class 2 鈥 Gases
  • Class 3 鈥 Flammable Liquid
  • Class 4 鈥 Flammable Solids
  • Class 5 鈥 Oxidizing Substances / Organic Peroxides
  • Class 6 鈥 Poisonous (Toxic) and Infectious Substances
  • Class 7 鈥 Radioactive Material
  • Class 8 鈥 Corrosives
  • Class 9 鈥 Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods
    Environmentally hazardous substances, elevated temperature material, hazardous wastes, marine pollutants

The FMCSA conducts over 154,000 annual roadside inspections each year to ensure safety guidelines are met while transporting the materials. Carrying a HazMat endorsement comes with increased responsibilities, including a thorough understanding of the Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMR) to avoid violations. The new HazMat Theory training regulation has been mandated to ensure that all drivers are trained and meet a consistent safety standard and training to transport hazardous materials.

Jobs & Resources

Every student is offered free job placement assistance after graduation. Recruiters from major carriers visit the Truck Driving Academy on a regular basis to interview prospective drivers. As you will see when you visit their sites, some positions offer tuition reimbursement, which means free training!

We partner with many respected companies to provide employment for graduates as well as driving solutions for transportation providers. View our Jobs & Resources webpage to learn more.

Jobs & Resources

Fees & Financial Resources

The cost for the Class A weekday or weekend programs is $5750, and the cost for the Class B weekday program is $3000. This will cover the entire cost of the program (instruction, materials, truck driving time, and practice tests) as well as state-required testing and licensing fees and DOT-required physical and drug screen. HAZMAT Endorsement is included in the program cost as well.

Financial Resources

Truck Driving Academy accepts payment for educational expense through the following:

  • 1. Notify your local Ohio Means Job office for availability of WIA grants
  • 2. Apply for a Sallie Mae student loan either by calling 1.800.695.3317 or at

We are a recognized training provider for the Ohio Workforce Investment Act (WIA), the U.S. Veterans Administration, the Trade Adjustment Act, and many others.

You may also find that some employers offer tuition reimbursement. Many of our graduates receive employment offers before they graduate, and some of these positions offer reimbursement. Be sure to ask your potential employer about any free training that may be available!

Contact us to find out what you may qualify for!

Locations

You can attend our training course at our original driver training Pad located at 370 Davids Drive in Wilmington, and we also offer training in Pike county.

Wilmington Pad

Classroom Portion:

The Wilmington classroom portion will operate at the Brown county campus
351 Brooks-Malott Ror, Mt. Orab, OH 45154

Pad:

370 Davids Dr, Wilmington, OH 45177

Pike County CTC

Classroom Portion:

175 Beaver Creek Rd, Piketon OH 45661

Pad:

611 West 2nd Street, Waverly, OH 45690

*Piketon Skills Pad has moved to New Waverly Location

Directions to the skills pad: If you are traveling North on 23 turn right at the Walmart light in Waverly. Follow West 2nd Street, turn right at the Kirchhoff Automotive sign, then come down to the first drive to the right and look for the Southern State Truck Driving Academy trucks.

Piketon Skills Pad location

Student Testimonials

Mercedes B. | 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Alumni"To start bluntly: this Academy is worth it. The team here has been incredibly understanding and very thorough with teaching me. Without their instruction and my hard work I couldn't have earned my CDL. They give you everything they can to help you succeed and I have never met more encouraging people than this. I highly recommend Southern State's Truck Driving Academy."

Mercedes B. | 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Alumni

Joshua Lauwers, Congratuations and Thank YouCongratulations and Thank You. Werner Enterprises is extremely proud to put the safest and most productive professional drivers on the road year after year, and we wouldn't be able to do that without your help. We appreciate everything that you and your staff do to prepare students to become professional drivers and begin their career with Werner. This letter is just a token of our appreciation to you and your staff for the outstanding job you did in helping to prepare one of your former students to become a Werner Enterprises team member. We are confident that your school will continue to provide the trucking industry and Werner with high-quality and well-trained students. If we can assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to call us at 1.888.4WERNER.

Jim Morbach
Vice President
Field and Government Recruiting

Tyler Zimmerman, Congratuations and Thank YouCongratulations and Thank You. Werner Enterprises is extremely proud to put the safest and most productive professional drivers on the road year after year, and we wouldn't be able to do that without your help. We appreciate everything that you and your staff do to prepare students to become professional drivers and begin their career with Werner. This letter is just a token of our appreciation to you and your staff for the outstanding job you did in helping to prepare one of your former students to become a Werner Enterprises team member. We are confident that your school will continue to provide the trucking industry and Werner with high-quality and well-trained students. If we can assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to call us at 1.888.4WERNER.

Jim Morbach
Vice President
Field and Government Recruiting

Tony E., 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Graduate "Southern State's Truck Driving Academy has been a big part of my life - for the past 13 year to be exact. I started here as a student, received my Class A license and am now teaching others how to drive a truck under this program. The small class sizes really allow for a lot of student/instructor time. It is close to home and affordable."

Tony E. | 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Instructor

Patricia C., 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Student"The Truck Driving Academy at Southern State has small classes sizes, which I like. The friendly staff and comfortable atmosphere are great for learning. Southern State has been very helpful at making sure I received funding to help offset enrollment costs. I am happy I chose the Truck Driving Academy at Southern State to assist me in getting my commercial driver's license."

Patricia C. | 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Alumni

Robert F., 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Student"It was through my family and friends that I heard about the Southern State Truck Driving Academy and how good the program was. Now that I am enrolled, I am very pleased and would have to agree with them. The classes are very informative and I have learned a lot about how to operate a semi safely."

Robert F. | 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Alumni

Suzy E., 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Student"I chose to attend the Truck Driving Academy at Southern State because it was close to my home. I would definitely recommend this program to anyone considering truck driving as a career. I received lots of hands on experience, which made me feel confident about getting a job. Southern State's Truck Driving Academy has put me on the path to getting my CDL. I can't wait to see what opportunities this will bring!"

Suzy E. | 吃瓜不打烊 Truck Driving Academy Alumni